May Book Haul!

May was the month of book presents! I don’t think I ever bought & received so many books in such a short period of time. Not that I’m complaining, though. I was just sad I didn’t have any time to read them immediately. But, as I said, I’m done with university. Well, at least the most difficult part.

For my birthday my awesome friend gave me a bunch of Little Black Classics books. Then, my boyfriend also gave me a bunch of Little Black Classics books for my birthday. They didn’t plan on it, and they still somehow got different books, so I have no doubles! You know how much I love this collection, so to see it grow substantially warmed my little book lover heart.

May Book Haul  May Book Haul

On the same occasion, I received from my boyfriend(again), a beautiful copy of Emma by Jane Austen, and the 50th Anniversary Edition of To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee.

May Book Haul  May Book Haul

I also spoiled myself with some books from Book Depository. When I saw that Amy Poehler’s Yes Please was on sale, I had to get it. I also got a book I don’t know much about, but which sounds interesting, Child of the Holocaust by Jack Kuper. Another book I got was Kafka on the Shore by Haruki Murakami. After reading his non-fiction book Underground, which I reviewed here, I decided to buy more of his work.

May Book Haul  May Book Haul


Since I didn’t have any time to read once I got into work-mode for university assignments and my thesis, I decided there’s no point in making a separated Monthly Wrap Up blog post. I started reading Kafka on the Shore almost immediately after I bought it, and I was so angry that I had to interrupt my reading because I love it so much. I am picking it up again today. I also tried to re-read To Kill a Mockingbird for the TKAM [re]read which took place between 21st and 31st of May, but about halfway through I had to give up. After spending all day working at the PC, my brain was tired and all I did was fall asleep immediately.

Now that I’m recovering from the workaholic zombie coma, I don’t even know what book to get my hands on. I have a few more pages of TKAM, and I still have to finish Murakami’s book. But more books await on this well deserved two month summer break! I also made a Summer Reading List, if you haven’t seen it, check it out, maybe it will inspire you, or maybe you have some suggestions for me, which I will definately appreciate!

That being said, I’m going back to reading.

Thank you to everyone for sticking around although there was a lack of content this past few weeks. I will do my best to make up for it!

Have a good day,

Jo.

Leave a Reply

