#TKAM re-read – day one (chapters 1, 2 & 3)

From the first pages of To Kill a Mockingbird, I felt like I travelled back in time, when I first read it. I am re-discovering how much I love this book.

Although I still have a ton of work to do, I decided to take a break this afternoon and spoil myself to some reading. Since #TKAM [re]read started today, and there is a plan, or should I say map, with what chapters to read every day, I thought this would be the perfect thing for me right now.

For those of you who don’t know what I’m talking about, long story short, Penguin Random House is hosting this reading marathon (let’s call it that) of Harper Lee’s To Kill a Mockingbird, in anticipation for the sequel, Go Set a Watchman which comes out on July 14. Here is the above mentioned map:

10384284_641300042636273_6582603978439927958_n

My favorite quote from the beginning of the book will always be this:

“Maycomb was an old town, but it was a tired old town when I first knew it. In rainy weather the streets turned to red slop; grass grew on the sidewalks, the courthouse sagged in the square. Somehow, it was hotter then: a black dog suffered on a summer’s day; bony mules hitched to Hoover carts flicked flied in the sweltering shade of the live oaks on the square. Men’s stiff collars wilted by nine in the morning. Ladies bathed before noon, after their three-o’clock naps, and by night fall were like soft teacakes with frostings of sweat and sweet talcum

People moved slowly then. They ambled across the square, shuffled in and out of the stores around it, took their time about everything. A day was twenty-four hours long but seemed longer. There was no hurry, for there was nowhere to go, nothing to buy and no money to buy it with, noting to see outside the boundaries of Maycomb County. But it was a time of vague optimism for some of the people: Maycomb County had recently been told that it had nothing to fear but fear itself.”

Excited to read more 🙂


Here is one of the editions I own and my cat, keeping me company this afternoon.

Taking a break from uni work and joining #TKAM re-read!

A post shared by ioana (@t.ioanaa) on

These are the three editions that I have of TKAM. The 50th Anniversary Edition (present from my boyfriend. ty!), an old edition in Romanian which was probably my mother’s, and an Italian edition which I bought a few years ago (I don’t remember why, but probably because of the beautiful cover!).

A post shared by ioana (@t.ioanaa) on

Also, it seems I was into collecting dry leaves back when I first read the book (the Romanian edition). I found these while looking through the book.

#TKAM Looked through an old edition in my native language and found this. A present from my past self.

A post shared by ioana (@t.ioanaa) on

Also this. I was into pressing leaves back then, I guess. #TKAM

A post shared by ioana (@t.ioanaa) on

Have you joined this readathon? Or what are your thoughts on the book?

One thought on “#TKAM re-read – day one (chapters 1, 2 & 3)

Leave a Reply

