Sunday read

image

This is just a short post about the book I started reading this Sunday morning, Underground by Haruki Murakami. It is actually my first encounter with Murakami. I’m at page 70, but I already love this. The book, that is, not the horrific event. I love the idea of documenting different people’s experience in relation to the Tokyo Gas Attack. In my ignorance, I haven’t even heard of the…incident, let’s call it that. I am learning about it as I read this book and I can’t imagine how awful it must have been for the victims/survivers. I am glad that Murakami decided to collect these stories. I will write more about my thoughts on this after I finish the book, as there is still more than half a book for me to read.
What are you reading this weekend? Have you read Underground? Do you enjoy Murakami’s work? Feel free to share your opinions in the comment section.

2 thoughts on “Sunday read

  1. I’ve never read this but I have enjoyed other of Murakami’s work, notably “1Q84” which I would recommend. “Underground” seems more factual based than some of his other novels like “1Q84” which can be quite abstact in parts. I’m reading Ali Smith’s “How To Be Both” which is fascinating, well-written and worth a read. Enjoy the rest of your weekend πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. I planned on reading a Murakami book for a long time, and then one time I randomly picked up this book in the bookstore and started reading it there since I had some time to spare. After a few pages I knew I had to buy it. I plan on reading his fiction after this one, probably ‘1Q84’. I also checkes out ‘How to be both’ and it sounds interesting, so I’ll add it to my wishlist πŸ™‚ Thanks for your comment, have a nice day yourself!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

