World Book Day post: my reading experience

In honor of World Book Day, I decided to make a short post about my book addiction, and my latest book adventures!

I want to start by mentioning the first book that I remember loving to pieces, which is the very well-known and beloved Matilda by Roald Dahl. I remember reading that book over and over again when I was little. I haven’t read it in a very long time, and I actually intend on re-reading it this summer. Just for the trip down memory lane.

Then, a few years later, in my teen I read The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger. I loved it because it was different from what I read before that moment. It remains one of my favorites, because of the memory I have of reading and loving the book.

In school, I didn’t like reading the books they told us to read. It is/was a faulty system in my country, in my opinion. The teachers failed at encouriging us to love reading. They were all Romanian authors, which I understand, but this made us (or me) dread reading them. You probably know how it is when something is so ‘popular’ and over-analyzed, that just the mention of it makes you roll your eyes. Well, I rarely read the books from school, but I always managed to pass the tests because I knew what and how to search the internet about them, or what to question my classmates that read the books.It worked for me, but I don’t necessarily recommend it!

Instead, I spent my summer nights reading books. Books I found interesting, funny, sad, silly. It was an adventure. Of course, I also learned that Romanian literature is not confined to the canonical authors we are told about in school, and I found a handful of local authors that I enjoy reading.

Now, to get back to the present day, I’ve re-started reading more books in the last few months, after a long hiatus because of University and my unfounded excuses that ‘I have no time’. I never stopped loving books, I just stopped making time. But now, I’m all about books, books, books! As you can tell by my blog. I had the idea of starting a blog for quite some time, and so far I love it because I can talk about books and movies and everything that I love. I am trying to make a schedule and structure for the blog, though. I learn as I go.

This has been my bookish adventure up to now. Apparently this month is filled with books so my April book haul looks like it’s going to be a big one! With the local book fair, so many sales on book sites… it’s hard to fight the urge to buy all the books!!!

Hope you enjoyed this post, feel free to share your bookish experience and anything else in the comment section!

Bonus photo of cat, just because:

IMG_0043

Happy weekend everybody,

Jo

4 thoughts on “World Book Day post: my reading experience

    1. Haha I remember the movie! It was cute from what I remember, but yes, the book is better, as it is often the case. I am actually nervous re-reading it after so many years, reading Matilda is connected to so many different memories from my childhood 🙂 I’ll probably watch the movie again too. Glad you liked it. P.S. Where do you usually get your audiobooks from?

      Like

Leave a Reply

