March book haul! & wrap up

First, what I got this month…Β 

I had no idea I bought so many books in March until I put all the books together for this post. But at least the Penguin Little Black Classics are cheap so…:)
IMG_1253

As soon as I found out that a bookstore in my city has Little Black Classics I went and bought one (I don’t know why just one), and then a few weeks later I bought three other books because…well…how could you not?! I already read Femme Fatale(Maupassant) and Mrs Rosie and the Priest (Boccaccio) and really enjoyed them. A short story from Maupassant actually gave me an idea for a short movie. And Boccaccio…well, if you haven’t read him yet, you have to! 14th century literature is something else. It was a surprise for me since it was the first time I ventured in that time period’s literature.
IMG_1255

I got Jim Thompson’s book just because the cover caught my eye (guilty!), but I already started reading it and I like it so far! It’s twisted in its own particular way, so I recommend it for anyone who loves noir but also murder/ psychological stories.
IMG_1256

OK…I never read Agatha Christie (I know, I know…), hence I decided it’s time to start this adventure. I always wanted to read her books but never knew where to start, so while I was in the bookstore I saw a bunch of her books exposed for sale and I just picked one at random(Three Act Tragedy). We’ll see how it goes πŸ™‚ I’ll probably do a review on this one.IMG_1257

I finished the volume The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes, and of course I had to get this one. I’m kind of postponing starting it because then I will read it and feel sad again that it’s over. I LOVE SHERLOCK SO MUCH.IMG_1258

So many firsts this month. This is my first Murakami book and I can’t wait to read it.
IMG_1261


What I read this month…

I finished: Franny and Zooey by Salinger, The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins, The Book Thief by M. Zusak and The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes by A.C.Doyle.

I read: Mrs Rosie and the Priest and Femme Fatale.

I started: The Killer Inside Me by Jim Thompson and The Pearl by J. Steinbeck

6 thoughts on “March book haul! & wrap up

  1. Great haul you got here! I’m the same when it comes to buying books and I have a ‘to read tower’ which I’m trying get through. Christie and Doyle are good choices here.

    Like

  2. I bought only two of these Penguin classics: ”Aphorisms on Love and Hate” and ”The Meek One”.Maybe I’ll some more in the future.

    I don’t know what to think about Arthur Conan Doyle’s books.I mean,does it get boring to read Holmes’ adventures once you know the trick,or is each adventure as ingenious as one another?

    Finally,I should really read at least Murakami book! I tend to put his books in my TBR list,but always forget them when doing some book shopping.

    All in all,this book haul is great,as these are the types of books I read. πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. I plan on collecting all the Little Black Classics…one at a time πŸ™‚ For me, Sherlock Holmes stories are still intriguing, but I haven’t read a lot of them. The fact that Watson tells the stories is probably why they won’t ever be boring to me. Classics are classics πŸ™‚ You either love them, or hate them.
      Thanks for the comment and I’m glad you liked my book haul. I’ll be doing a book haul post at the end of each month, so stay tuned πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

